DVSA earned recognition: vehicle operator standards

The standards that vehicle operators need to meet to join the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA) earned recognition scheme.

Applies to England, Scotland and Wales

Published 20 July 2020
Last updated 1 September 2023 + show all updates
  1. HS2 module audit standards - updated 'Important note' to reflect that there is now a section 10 in the audit standards. Public service vehicle (PSV) operator standards - removed 'if an operator carried out dangerous goods activities (ADR), then at least one ADR centre will be part of the audit' from the earned recognition audit sampling criteria.

  2. Updated section 3 'Terms and conditions' in the Guild of British Coach Operators audit standards: DVSA earned recognition standards. Removed a point from subsection 3.2 as this is no longer a condition of hire.

  3. Added audit standards for new Concrete Operational module.

  4. Updated the Important Note section in the TfL Contractual Requirements audit standards: DVSA earned recognition attachment - added a list of types of contract operators can bid for when they have passed this module.

  5. Added audit standards for new The Guild of British Coach Operators module.

  6. Added audit standards for new TfL Contractual Requirements module.

  7. HS2 module audit standards: DVSA earned recognition: Added new section 'Use a sign when you visit an HS2 site (HS2 module operators only)' about purchasing HS2 site signs.

  8. Updated audit standards for heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) and public service vehicles (PSVs).

  9. Updated criteria 3.10.3 in 'Heavy goods vehicle (HGV) operator audit standards: DVSA earned recognition' and 'Public service vehicle (PSV) operator standards: DVSA earned recognition' because operators can use manual maintenance systems from 1 April 2022.

  10. Added audit standards for new London Power Tunnels (LPT2) module.

  11. Replaced PDF versions of audit standards with HTML versions

  12. First published.