Dr Seona Reid CBE, appointed a Tate Trustee

The Prime Minister has appointed Dr Seona Reid CBE as a Trustee of the Tate Gallery for four years, from 13 May 2013.


Dr Seona Reid CBE, appointed a Tate Trustee

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.



Seona Reid was appointed Director to the Glasgow School of Art in September 1999, a post from which she will step down in August 2013 after 14 highly successful years. Previously she served as Director of the Scottish Arts Council for nine years, and before that Assistant Director (Strategy and Regional Development) of Greater London Arts; Director of Shape; Head of Public Relations Ballet Rambert; Press and Publicity Officer at Northern Dance Theatre; Business Manager, Lincoln Theatre Royal and a freelance arts consultant working with the Arts Council of Great Britain and the London Contemporary Dance Trust.

She is currently Scotland’s Commissioner to the UK-US Fulbright Commission, a member of the Advisory Panel to DCMS for the selection of the 2017 UK City of Culture, a member of the Universities Scotland Executive Committee and a Board member of Cove Park, an artist residency centre.

In the recent past, she has served as a Commissioner on the Scottish Broadcasting Commission; a member of Universities UK creative industries steering group; member of the Knowledge and Evaluation Committee of the Arts and Humanities Research Council; Vice Chair of the Lighthouse Centre for Architecture, Design and the City; and on the Boards of the Arches and Suspect Culture Theatre.

She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts; has four honorary degrees from Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen (1995), from the University of Glasgow (1999), from Glasgow Caledonian University (2001) and from Strathclyde University (2009), all for services to the arts in Scotland. She became an honorary professor of the University of Glasgow in 1995 and was awarded a CBE in the 2008 New Year Honours for services to the Creative Industries.

She is also Deputy Chair of the National Heritage Memorial Fund, and Chair of its Committee for Scotland, for which she receives £20,749 on the basis that she dedicates approximately five days a month to the role.

Published 22 May 2013