Policy paper

Devolution of adult education functions: MoUs

Memoranda of understanding between DfE, mayoral combined authorities and the Mayor of London for the devolution/delegation of adult education functions.



From August 2019, some functions which relate to adult education, and the associated adult education budget will be devolved to 6 mayoral combined authorities and delegated to the Mayor of London for the Greater London area.

The 6 mayoral combined authorities are:

  • Cambridgeshire and Peterborough
  • Greater Manchester
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Tees Valley
  • West Midlands
  • West of England

These documents set out agreed ways of working to support the devolution/delegation of the adult education functions.

Published 6 February 2019