7 Lenses of Transformation

This tool gives a consistent framework and common language for designing and evaluating large government transformation projects.



The 7 Lenses provide a practical guide for understanding complex transformations. They are the result of extensive collaboration between colleagues from across government who have first hand experience in leading large scale transformations, supported by external experts.

We have consolidated this expertise into a simple tool to guide your organisation’s transformation journey.

You may also be interested in the 7 Lenses maturity matrix, which expands each lens into 5 levels of maturity.

Join the transformation community mailing list or contact the Cross Government Transformation team with any comments or questions about the 7 Lenses at

Published 8 May 2018
Last updated 25 September 2018 + show all updates
  1. Information added on 7 Lenses maturity matrix.

  2. First published.