Policy paper

2013 sector resilience plan

The 2013 summary of sector resilience plans sets out the current level of resilience to risks for UK infrastructure sectors.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government



Sector resilience plans set out the resilience of the UK’s most important infrastructure to the relevant risks identified in the National Risk Assessment. Produced annually, plans are placed before ministers to alert them to any perceived vulnerabilities, with a programme of measures to improve resilience where necessary.

The national infrastructure is categorised into 9 critical sectors:

  • communications
  • emergency services
  • energy
  • finance
  • food
  • government
  • health
  • transport
  • water

Sector resilience plans are also produced for 2 further sectors:

  • hazardous sites
  • civil nuclear
Published 15 January 2014