Our governance

The Board is accountable to Parliament for the discharge of the Regulator of Social Housing's fundamental objectives as stated in the Housing and Regeneration Act 2008.

Board members

The members are appointed by the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government. They are:

  • Simon Dow, interim Chair
  • Liz Butler
  • Richard Hughes
  • Richard Moriarty
  • Ceri Richards
  • Paul Smee

Chief Executive

The Chief Executive, Fiona MacGregor, is a member of the Board. She leads a team of staff responsible for the regulation of registered social housing providers, in line with the Board’s strategy for regulation.

While the Chair of the Board is accountable to the Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government, as accounting officer the Chief Executive, who is a member of the Board, has a separate direct line of accountability to Parliament as well.

Further information

The Board meets 11 times a year and minutes will be published on our website for transparency.

See Terms of reference for Board Terms of Reference and Standing Orders.

See Code of Conduct Board and Committee Members for the Code of Conduct and Practice for Board Members and Committee and Sub-Committee Members.

See Register of interests - Board of RSH.