Details of the Council's members and register of interests.

The members are senior figures from the fields of science, engineering and technology. They are appointed by the Prime Minister, in line with guidance from the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. CST invites non-members to join sub-groups to advise on specific pieces of work.



  • Dr Christopher Bishop FREng FRSE FRS - Director of the Microsoft Research Lab
  • Professor Julia Black CBE FBA - Strategic Director of Innovation and Professor of Law, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Professor Philip Bond BSc, DEA, FIMA, FInstP - Professor of Creativity and Innovation at the University of Manchester, Visiting Fellow at the Oxford Centre for Industrial and Applied Mathematics and Visiting Professor in Engineering Mathematics and Computer Science at the University of Bristol
  • Professor Muffy Calder OBE FRENG FRSE - Vice-Principal and Head of College of Science & Engineering, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Sir David Cannadine FBA, FRSL, FSA, FRHistS - President of the British Academy (ex-officio member)
  • Mr Suranga Chandratillake FREng - General Partner at Balderton Capital
  • Professor Jim Hall FREng FICE - Professor of Climate and Environmental Risks, University of Oxford
  • Saul Klein - Entrepreneur, Investor and Executive Fellow of Management Science and Operations and Strategy and Entrepreneurship, London Business School
  • Professor Sir Robert Lechler FMedSci - President of the Academy of Medical Sciences (ex-officio member)
  • Professor Dame Ottoline Leyser DBE, FRS - Director of the Sainsbury Laboratory, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Max Lu FAA, FTSE, FIChemE, FRSC - President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Surrey
  • Professor Jim McDonald FREng FRSE - President of the Royal Academy of Engineering (ex-officio member) and Principal and Vice Chancellor of the University of Strathclyde
  • Dervilla Mitchell CBE, FIEI, FREng - Director of Arup
  • Professor Fiona Murray CBE - Associate Dean for Innovation and Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Management
  • Professor Paul Newman FREng FIEEE FIET - Director of the Oxford Robotics Institute and BP Professor of Information Engineering, University of Oxford
  • Professor Sir Venki Ramakrishnan FRS - President of the Royal Society (ex-officio member)
  • Professor Brooke Rogers OBE FRSA FHEA - Professor of Behavioural Science and Security and Deputy Head of Department in the Department of War Studies at King’s College London
  • Paul Stein FRENG FRAS FIET - Chief Technology Officer, Rolls-Royce plc
  • Lord Stern of Brentford - Chair of the Grantham Research Institute at the London School of Economics
  • Professor Sir Mark Walport FRS FMedSci - Chief Executive of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) (ex-officio member)

‘Ex-officio members’ are people who become members automatically because they hold a particular office.


  • Jo Shanmugalingam - Director General, Industrial Strategy, Science and Innovation at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS)
  • Charles Roxburgh - Second Permanent Secretary at HM Treasury

Register of interests

Members are required to declare any personal, political or business interests that could, or could be seen to, influence their judgement.