Details of the council's committees and latest meeting minutes.

There are currently 24 members of the advisory council.


Appointments (usually for a term of 3 years) are ordinarily made by the Home Secretary, in accordance with guidance issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. According to this guidance, members can serve a maximum period of 10 years, although no member can be reappointed unless they have received a satisfactory performance appraisal.

Current members

The register of interests for members of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs (ACMD) lists their occupations, the organisations they work for and the nature of any interests they might have.


Dr Owen Bowden-Jones, consultant in addiction psychiatry and Honorary Senior Lecturer at Imperial College


  • Dr Kostas Agath, Addictions Consultant Psychiatrist
  • Gillian Arr-Jones, Pharmacist
  • Fiona Bauermeister, Assistant Chief Officer, London Community Rehabilitation Company
  • Simon Bray, Commander, Metropolitan Police
  • Dr Roger Brimblecombe, Pharmacologist
  • Annette Dale-Perera, Strategic Director, addiction and offender care, Central North West Thames NHS Foundation Trust
  • Dr Paul Dargan, Consultant Physician and Clinical Toxicologist, Clinical Director, Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, London; Reader in Clinical Toxicology, King’s College London
  • Dr Emily Finch, Consultant Psychiatrist and Clinical Director, Addictions Clinical Academic Group, South London and Maudsley NHS Trust
  • Professor Simon Gibbons, Professor of Medicinal Phytochemistry and Head of Pharmaceutical and Biological Chemistry, School of Pharmacy, UCL
  • Sarah Graham, Addictions Therapist; Director, Sarah Graham Solutions
  • Professor Ray Hill, Neuropharmacologist
  • Kyrie Ll James, Solicitor-advocate (non-practising), Asylum and Immigration Tribunal
  • David Liddell, Director, Scottish Drugs Forum
  • Professor Fiona Measham, Professor of Criminology, School of Applied Social Sciences, Durham University
  • Jo Melling, Director, Oxfordshire Drug and Alcohol Action Team
  • Dr Tim Millar, Senior Research Fellow and Addiction Research Strategy Lead, University of Manchester
  • Dr Steve Pleasance, Head of Industry, Royal Society of Chemistry
  • Richard Phillips, Independent Consultant in Substance Misuse
  • Rob Phipps, retired Head of Health Development Policy Branch, Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (Northern Ireland)
  • Fabrizio Schifano, Consultant Psychiatrist, Hertfordshire Partnership NHS Foundation Trust; Professor of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, University of Hertfordshire
  • Professor Alex Stevens, Professor of Criminal Justice and Deputy Head of the School of Social Policy, University of Kent
  • Professor Harry Sumnall, Professor in Substance Use, Liverpool John Moores University
  • Dr Ben Whalley, Professor of Neuropharmacology and School Director of Research, University of Reading


The Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs (ACMD) has 3 committees and 2 working groups.

Recovery committee

Chair: Annette Dale-Perera

Recovery committee is the newest standing committee of the ACMD, formed in 2011 to support the ACMD to advise the government on:

  • how people can best be supported to recover from dependence on drugs and alcohol
  • how best to prevent drug and alcohol misuse and the harms it causes

The recovery committee is comprised of ACMD members with an interest or expertise in aspects of drug and alcohol recovery, supplemented by additional co-opted experts in aspects of recovery.

Technical committee

Chair: Professor Ray Hill

Technical committee is a standing committee of the ACMD. Its primary purpose is to provide technical advice on classification and scheduling of substances under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 and its regulations. For example, the committee is consulted on the measures necessary to ensure a controlled drug is not diverted from legitimate medical purposes.

Novel psychoactive substances committee

Chair: Professor Simon Gibbons

The novel psychoactive substances committee was set up in response to the emergence of novel psychoactive substances (NPS) that have rapidly and significantly changed the drug scene. The committee aims to monitor the prevalence and harms of NPS and where appropriate provide advice on this to government.

Working groups

Polysubstance use working group

Chair: Professor Fiona Measham

The ACMD was asked by government to advise on polysubstance use, an area of drug use that is becoming more relevant in society today. The polysubstance use working group will, among other issues relevant to polysubstance use, look at the definition of polysubstance use, markets, motivations, polysubstance combinations and consequences of polysubstance use.

Diversion and illicit supply of medicines inquiry

Chair: Professor Ray Hill

In September 2013, the government commissioned the ACMD to undertake a review to consider diversion and illicit supply of medicines. In particular, the government requested the ACMD to explore the potential for medical and social harms arising from the illicit supply of medicines – predominantly controlled drugs.

The scope of this review will include whether diversion and illicit supply of medicines displaces or replaces the misuse of known drugs of abuse, the prevalence of misuse of medicines obtained through these means, demographic of users, and the most prevalent drugs being misused in this manner.


Open session minutes, 24 November 2015 (PDF, 23.8KB, 2 pages)

Open session minutes, 2 July 2015 (PDF, 37.3KB, 4 pages)

Open session minutes, 25 September 2014 (PDF, 36.9KB, 6 pages)

Open session minutes, 11 April 2014 (PDF, 45KB, 5 pages)