Press release

Valuation Tribunal Service Chairman reappointed

Anne Galbraith CBE has been reappointed as Chairman of the Valuation Tribunal Service.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The government has announced the reappointment of Anne Galbraith CBE as Chairman of the Valuation Tribunal Service (VTS) until 31 October 2016.

Further information

The Chairman of the Valuation Tribunal Service has been appointed in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments’ Code of Practice.

Anne Galbraith CBE

Anne Galbraith was first appointed as Chairman of the Board of the Valuation Tribunal Service in 2004. She is a former Member of the Council on Tribunals, and a former Chairman of the Council of Durham University. Anne is currently also an Executive Member of the NHS Business Services Authority but will retire from that role in December 2013.

All appointments to the Valuation Tribunal Service are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity to be made public if any is declared. No declaration has been made.

The Valuation Tribunal for England hears certain appeals relating to Council Tax (including Council Tax support) and non-domestic rating liabilities.

The Valuation Tribunal Service was established in April 2004 as a non-departmental public body under the Local Government Act 2003. It provides support and guidance to the Valuation Tribunal for England and advises ministers on matters relating to valuation tribunals. It promotes best practice and provides the services required for the operation of the Valuation Tribunal for England, for example, accommodation and training for members and employees.

Anne Galbraith will receive £57,408 and will give at least 3 days a week to her role as Chairman of the Valuation Tribunal Service.

Media enquiries

Published 30 October 2013