World news story


Her Excellency the Acting Governor, Anya Williams, chaired the 11th meeting of the Cabinet on Wednesday, 30 March 2016, at the Hon. Hilly Ewing Building on Providenciales.

TCI Cabinet Meeting

All Ministers were present except the Hon. Minister of Tourism, Environment, Heritage and Culture and the Hon. Minister of Infrastructure, Housing and Planning.

At this meeting Cabinet:

  • Noted the recommendations of the Procurement Board on the award of contracts for the following projects in line with the provisions of Section 38 of the Public Procurement Ordinance:

Development Fund Project No. 5238 – Equipment for the police;

Development Fund Project No. 5116 – Purchase of software for information management at all schools;

Development Fund Project No. 5046 – ICT upgrade for all schools;

Development Fund Project No. 5235 – Antennae for Radio Turks and Caicos;

Development Fund Project No. 5236 – Shore Club/Long Bay Subdivision Water Project;

  • Noted the recommendations of the Procurement Board to award contracts in line with the Public Procurement Ordinance 2012 as follows – TR15/14 Replacement vehicle for the Deputy Governor’s Office; TR15/24 Medical supplies and equipment for the National Stepwise Health Survey; TR15/42 Furniture and equipment for the Wellness Centre, Grand Turk; TR15/48 Packing centre, Agriculture Centre (North Caicos); TR15/50 Furniture and equipment for the Juvenile Centre, Grand Turk; TR15/58 Road Development Programme, Bellfield Landing Road, North Caicos; TR15/61 Additional works, Community Clinic, Salt Cay; TR15/62 Furniture and equipment for the Sammy Been Building, Providenciales; TR15/67 Upgrading air-conditioning at the NJS Francis Building, Grand Turk; TR15/69 Furniture and equipment for the Ministry of Tourism, Environment, Culture and Heritage; TR15/72 Renovation works to the Police Station, Grand Turk; TR15/73 Fencing project, North Caicos Port; TR15/76 Rapid assessment of informal settlements in TCI; TR15/77 IT equipment and network installation for the RTCIPF; TR15/78 Furniture and equipment for the Ministry of Finance, Investment and Trade; TR15/83 Consultancy review of the Providenciales Airport Master Plan; TR15/74 Construction of the Early Childhood Centre, Ona Glinton Primary School, Grand Turk;

  • Agreed a temporary moratorium of up to four weeks on the receipt of new applications for the processing of work permits (excluding temporary work permits), residence permits, permanent residency and Turks and Caicos Islander status to enable Ministry of Border Control and Employment staff to be trained on and the general public to familiarise themselves with the new forms, processes and procedures which are necessary to implement the requirements of the new Immigration Ordinance and the new Turks and Caicos Islander Status Ordinance, both of which come into force on 1 April 2016, so as to provide an improved and more efficient service to customers;

  • Advised Her Excellency the Acting Governor to approve a proposal to amend Section 68 of the Customs Ordinance 2009 (Duties, Drawback, Prohibitions and Restrictions) (the Ordinance) to allow reassessments of customs duty to be conducted as part of the post customs clearance process;

  • Received a progress report on the work of the TCI Multi-Agency Compliance Task Force in the areas of prevention and clearance of litter; ensuring that all businesses have the required business licences; ensuring that food handlers are licensed and comply with conditions; ensuring that derelict vehicles are removed from both roadside and residential properties and preventing reoccurrences; prevention of squatting on Crown Land; and stopping and preventing unlicensed street vending. Cabinet agreed that the Task Force should henceforth operate under the auspices of the Joint Law Enforcement Committee (JLEC);

  • Advised Her Excellency the Acting Governor to agree to the following appointments:

Prison Categorisation Board: George Blenman (Chair); Steve Barrett, Superintendent of Prison (Member); Lorna James (Member); Pamela Joseph (Member) to be appointed for the period 1 April 2016 – 31 March 2017.

Parole Board: Pastor Frederick Braithwaite (Chair); Steve Barrett, Superintendent of Prison; Elva Williams (Member); Carolyn Ingham (Member); Marie Carter Glasgow (Member) to be appointed for the period 1 April 2016 – 31 March 2017.

Prison Visiting Committee: Leo Missick (Chair); Jennifer Forbes (Member); Michael Robinson (Member); Belinda Lightbourne (Member); Mark Kendall (Member); Leo Selver (Member); Permanent Secretary; Director of Social Development; Superintendent of Prison; Karen Higgs (Member) to be appointed for the period 1 April 2016 – 31 March 2017.

Telecommunications Commission: Ejay Saunders (Chair); Arthur Hamilton (Member); Leron Ingham (Member); Pedro Ariza (Member); Marvin Simmons (Member); Diedra Been (Member); Permanent Secretary (Ex-Officio); Director General (Ex-Officio – Secretary) to be appointed for the period 1 April 2016 – 31 March 2018.

Radio Turks and Caicos Board of Governors: Ryan Williams (Chair); Stanley Astwood (Member); Jermaine Fulford (Member); Audley Astwood (Member); Allison Ingham (Member); Permanent Secretary; Bridgette Newman (Secretary) to be appointed for the period 1 April 2016 – 31 March 2017.

· Reviewed and discussed proposed changes to the draft Development Agreement between TCIG and the developers of the proposed Toscana development site at Grace Bay on Providenciales for further discussion with the developers.

Further information on these matters will be provided by Ministers in due course.

Published 31 March 2016