News story

The Sun Military Awards open for nominations

His Royal Highness Prince Charles has launched the 2013 Sun Military Awards to salute the bravery of the Armed Forces.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Sir David Jason, Corporal Oliver Kennedy and Hermione Norris (library image) [Picture: The Sun newspaper]
Sir David Jason handing Corporal Oliver Kennedy his True Grit Award at last year's Awards (library image)

Following last year’s hugely successful event, the sixth annual ‘Millies’ have been launched by The Sun newspaper, and nominations are now open.

The Armed Forces and the general public have until the end of Monday 9 September to put forward individuals and units for an award. With operations in Afghanistan drawing to a close, this may be one of the last opportunities to highlight the very best from all of our Services, both Regular and Reserve.

The Sun Military Awards, first held in 2008 and supported over the years by Their Royal Highnesses The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall, the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge and Prince Harry, provide a valuable morale boost and a high profile opportunity for the public to recognise some of the excellent work and outstanding achievements of the Armed Forces.

The Prince of Wales – whose son Prince Harry served in Afghanistan this year – says the annual awards which he conceived are a unique opportunity to honour heroic sacrifices, and this year they will allow us to show the strength of our support in the wake of the killing of Fusilier Lee Rigby.

Writing in the Sun, Prince Charles said:

It is time once again to launch The Sun’s Military Awards and begin the search for extraordinary examples of bravery, fortitude, resilience and determination by our servicemen and women.

I cannot help but feel this is the easier part of the task, as there are simply so many remarkable examples of soldiers, sailors and airmen and women doing extraordinary things.

The more difficult task is to decide between them just who should receive an award, as they all deserve recognition.

Now in their sixth year, I am immensely proud to support these awards once again.

They really do offer us all a chance to register our profound thanks and admiration for the Armed Forces.

From left: Christine Bleakley, Sergeant Roy Geddes and Frank Lampard (library image)
From left: TV presenter Christine Bleakley, Sergeant Roy Geddes with his Outstanding Airman Award and Chelsea footballer Frank Lampard at last year's Awards (library image) [Picture: The Sun newspaper]

The awards ceremony will be held in December and will be televised shortly afterwards. The event will be held in honour of all those who have fallen since the 2012 awards.

Nominations will only be accepted for the period of 1 September 2012 to 31 August 2013. Nominations can be made via The Sun at, and should include as much information as possible to give your nominees the best chance.

The categories for the 2013 Sun Military Awards are:

  • Overcoming Adversity – To recognise a serviceman or woman who has suffered severe injury or illness, and has overcome their difficulties with fortitude

  • Outstanding Sailor or Marine – For the individual who has made the most outstanding contribution to the Royal Navy or Royal Marines over the past year

  • Outstanding Soldier – For the individual who has made the most outstanding contribution to the Army during the past year

  • Outstanding Airman – For the individual who has made the most outstanding contribution to the Royal Air Force over the past year

  • Best Reservist – For a reservist of any rank or Service who has made the most outstanding contribution to any Armed Forces endeavour

  • Support to the Armed Forces – For a civilian – a civil servant, contractor, charity worker or member of the public – who has given exceptional help to the Forces

  • Lifesaver Award – For an individual or a group – whether a medical professional or not – who has performed an extraordinary lifesaving act

  • Best Unit – The winner can be a unit of any size that has excelled consistently, for example with achievements on an operational deployment

  • Judges’ Special Award – The judges’ personal gift – NOT a public vote - for outstanding service by an individual or group not recognised elsewhere.

Published 12 August 2013