News story

The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport Appoints six new Trustees to the Board of the Theatres Trust

The Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP has appointed Pam Bone, Paul Cartwright, David Ian, Gary Kemp, Richard Johnston and Simon Ricketts to the Theatres Trust Board for three year terms from 1st July 2017.


Pam Bone

Pam Bone is an independent adviser specializing in planning, resource development and project delivery for the creative industries. Over the past 15 years she has secured £50-100m for arts buildings, artistic and learning programmes and individual projects. Over the last decade she has enabled the creation of significant arts spaces including the refurbishment of the Lighthouse in Poole, the Crucible in Sheffield, the Courthouse in Otley, HEART – enterprise and arts centre in Leeds, studio spaces for Mind the Gap at Lister Mills in Bradford, New Writers’ Centre in Newcastle. Clients working with Pam to ensure ongoing sustainability and growth through fundraising have included Leicester Theatre Trust (Curve), Sheffield Theatres (Crucible), Mind the Gap, Jellymould, The Art House and the Quilters’ Guild of the UK.

Paul Cartwright

Paul is a partner of the private equity firm, Rutland Partners LLP. Paul joined Rutland in 1988 and has been actively involved in its development through to becoming Managing Partner in 2005. Paul has been a lead member of the team in raising £800m of capital for investment across the three Rutland Funds since 2001. Paul has also led a wide range of turnaround and restructuring investments for Rutland and held many board positions in portfolio companies. Prior to joining Rutland, Paul qualified as a chartered accountant with Arthur Andersen working in corporate finance and consultancy.

David Ian

David Ian is a theatre producer who presents shows all over the world. He started out as an actor and appeared in a number of UK theatre productions, including the musicals Time, The Pirates of Penzance, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, and The Rocky Horror Show. From 2005, David was the Chairman and CEO of the global theatrical division of Live Nation having previously joined the group in 2000 when it was part of Clear Channel, the largest theatrical group in the world.

At Live Nation, David was responsible for Broadway Across America, which produces and tours first class Broadway shows in over 40 cities in the United States and Canada. He was simultaneously CEO of the UK division which included over 25 theatres both in London’s West End and the majority of the regional markets in the UK. In 2006 he founded David Ian Productions, based in London’s Covent Garden. It is now one of the UK’s premier producers of live large-scale theatrical entertainment.

Gary Kemp

Gary Kemp grew up in Islington and attended local grammar school Dame Alice Owens and Anna Scher’s Children’s Theatre drama club, becoming a child actor in film and TV. In 1976 he left acting to concentrate on making music and songwriting, founding the 1980s super group Spandau Ballet. His songs spent a combined total of 500 weeks in the charts and generated over 25 million record sales worldwide.

Gary pursued an acclaimed solo career after Spandau Ballet split in 1990 and returned to acting, starring in films such as ‘The Krays’ and ‘The Bodyguard’ and performing on stage at Wyndham’s, Stratford East and the Trafalgar. He writes articles on art, music and the theatre for numerous publications, including the Times, Guardian and Evening Standard, and presents and produces programmes for TV and radio.

Richard Johnston

Richard Johnston has been Chief Executive of Delfont Mackintosh Theatres since October 2004. He was also Chief Executive of Stoll Moss Theatres/Really Useful Theatres from 1992-2000. From 2000-2004 he was Chief Executive of the Racecourse Holdings Trust/Jockey Club Racecourses, which is the leading group of UK racecourses. Earlier positions included Director of the Birmingham Hippodrome and Chief Executive of the Contemporary Dance Trust.

Simon Ricketts

Simon is one of the founding partners of Town Legal LLP, a boutique planning law firm. Prior to Town, he was a partner at King & Wood Mallesons (previously SJ Berwin). Simon specialises in planning, compulsory purchase and local government law, particularly in relation to UK major mixed-use development projects. He was ranked as the UK’s most highly rated planning solicitor in 2017 for a eighth year running by Planning magazine and is rated as a Tier 1 planning solicitor in Chambers UK and Legal 500

Theatres Trust Trustees are not remunerated. These appointments have been made in accordance with the Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments. It is a requirement of the Code that political activity by those appointed is declared. Simon Ricketts, Paul Cartwright, Richard Johnson, David Ian, and Pam Bone have declared that they have not carried out any political activity. Gary Kemp has declared membership of the Labour Party.

Published 21 April 2017