News story

The Home Office ministerial team confirmed

The top team at the Home Office is now in place and their work has begun. Find out who they are and what they'll be doing.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Home Secretary

Home Secretary Theresa May has a lengthy history in UK politics. She is the former shadow secretary of state for work and pensions, and shadow minister for women. She was first elected member of Parliament for Maidenhead in 1997.

The ministers

Baroness Pauline Neville-Jones is the minister of state for security. She also has an extensive political history, having served in the past as deputy secretary to the Cabinet and head of the defence and overseas secretariat, and chair of the Joint Intelligence Committee. She is also the former shadow security minister, and national security adviser to David Cameron.

Damian Green is the minister of state for immigration. The former shadow minister for immigration, he has also served as the shadow secretary of state for education and skills, and shadow secretary of state for transport.

Nick Herbert is the minister of state for policing and criminal justice. The former shadow minister for police reform and shadow justice secretary also served as the shadow secretary for environment, food and rural affairs.

Lynne Featherstone is the parliamentary under secretary of state for equality. She has recently served as international development spokesperson and equalities spokesperson for the Liberal Democrats.

James Brokenshire is a parliamentary under secretary of state. He is a member of Parliament for Old Bexley and Sidcup, and a former member of Parliament for Hornchurch and Rainham.

Learn more

Find out more about the ministers.

Updates to this page

Published 19 May 2010