News story

Prime Minister appoints Interim Chair to NHMF

Dame Seona Reid becomes Interim Chair at the National Heritage Memorial Fund, from 1 September 2014, until new Chair is appointed.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Dame Seona Reid DBE FRSA

Dame Seona retired as Director of Glasgow School of Art in 2013 after 14 years. She had previously held senior roles at major arts institutions including the Scottish Arts Council, Greater London Arts and Ballet Rambert. She is currently Chair of the National Theatre of Scotland and of Cove Park, an artist residency centre. She is also a Tate Trustee and a member of the Universities UK Creative Industries Project Steering Group.

Dame Seona is the senior Deputy Chair at NHMF. The process of recruiting a new Chair for NHMF, to succeed Dame Jenny Abramsky DBE who completed her term of appointment on 31 August 2014, is currently under way and is expected to be completed by December 2014.

The National Heritage Memorial Fund was set-up in 1980 to save the most outstanding parts of our heritage at risk of loss to the nation, as a memorial to those who have given their lives for the UK. The Fund receives grant-in-aid from the government. It also administers the Heritage Lottery Fund, which is the largest dedicated funder of the UK’s heritage, with around £375 million a year to distribute.

Published 11 September 2014