News story

Post of Chair of the School Teachers’ Review Body (STRB) to be advertised

Michael Gove announces that he will launch an open competition to appoint a new Chair of the School Teachers’ Review Body.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Secretary of State today announced that he will launch an open competition to appoint a new Chair of the School Teachers’ Review Body (STRB) to replace Dr Anne Wright whose appointment is due to end on 31 March 2011.

Dr Anne Wright CBE said:

I have greatly enjoyed the opportunity to contribute to the work of the STRB over the last three years. I do hope that the work I have already done to encourage the Review Body to start thinking about the scope for greater flexibilities will leave it well placed to respond positively to the next remit. I wish my successor well in taking forward the important work of the Review Body.

Secretary of State for Education, Michael Gove, said:

I want to record my thanks for the excellent contribution made by Dr Wright to the work of the STRB, and to wish her well for the future. I am grateful for her willingness to ensure completion of the STRB’s current remit due for report on 30 March.

Dr Wright’s experience of education and her commitment to advancing high standards in the teaching profession have been invaluable in her leadership of the independent STRB.

The appointment process will be run in accordance with The Code of Practice for Ministerial Appointments to Public Bodies. This ensures that all appointments to public bodies throughout England are made in a way that is open, transparent and fair to all applicants. All applicants are appointed on merit and the process will be subject to scrutiny by an Independent Public Appointments Assessor.

The closing date for applications is 19 April 2011.

The advertisement for the post is now on the Cabinet Office appointments website and appeared in the Sunday Times on Sunday 20 March 2011.

DfE enquiries

Central newsdesk - for journalists 020 7783 8300

General enquiries - for members of the public 0370 000 2288

Published 18 March 2011