News story

Nobel Prize for Physics awarded to Professor Peter Higgs

Professor Higgs has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics for his theoretical work with François Englert on the Higgs boson and subatomic particles.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

It was announced today (Tuesday 8 October 2013) that Professor Peter Higgs has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics for his work in the field of science.

The prize was awarded “for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN’s Large Hadron Collider”.

Read more about Professor Higgs’ work with the Higgs boson.

Speaking about the award, the Prime Minister said:

Professor Peter Higgs has made a huge contribution to science and I am delighted to congratulate him on being awarded this year’s Nobel Prize for Physics. This brilliant achievement is richly deserved recognition of his lifetime of dedicated research and his passion for science. It is also a credit to the world-leading British universities in which this research was carried out, including the University of Edinburgh, Imperial and Kings College London.

It took nearly 50 years and thousands of great minds to discover the Higgs boson after Professor Higgs proposed it, and he and all those people should be extremely proud. This government backs scientific research and innovation and is determined to ensure that the UK continues to be at the forefront of the next great scientific discoveries, and I hope this award inspires others.

Published 8 October 2013