Press release

Newly formed Heritage Council will help ensure sector thrives

A newly formed Heritage Council made up of key players in the heritage sector will meet for the first time

Minister for Art, Heritage and Tourism Michael Ellis

The Heritage Council seeks to strengthen the link between the country’s heritage and the wider regeneration and placemaking agenda as well as helping government to best support the heritage sector.

Heritage Minister Michael Ellis said:

Heritage is an important part of our communities. It helps us to make sense of our past and shape the places we live, work and visit. The sector provides employment for hundreds and thousands of people and is an economic driver in our economy.

Our history and heritage are part of what make our country an attractive place to live and visit and I am committed to ensuring that we continue to be a world-leader in the protection and preservation of our historic sites so that we remain a go to destination.

The Council will create closer links between the government and the sector and will enable dialogue to drive progress in key policy areas affecting heritage. It will support the government in the implementation of policy and raise issues affecting the sector. In addition the Council and government will work together on issues such as planning, environmental protection, social and economic development and education.

Core membership of the Heritage Council is made up of: DCMS; DEFRA; MHCLG and HMT along with Historic England; The Heritage Lottery Fund; The Heritage Alliance; Natural England; The National Trust and Historic Houses.

The aim of the Council will enable collaboration and the exchange of ideas so that government and the sector can work together to protect and preserve Britain’s heritage for future generations.


Notes to Editors:

Core members of the Council:

  • DCMS - Michael Ellis, Minister for Arts, Heritage and Tourism
  • DEFRA - Lord Gardiner of Kimble, Minister for Rural Affairs and Biosecurity
  • MHCLG - Heather Wheeler MP, Minister for Housing and Homelessness
  • HMT - John Glen MP, Economic Secretary to the Treasury
  • Historic England - Duncan Wilson, Chief Executive
  • The Heritage Lottery Fund - Ros Kerslake, Chief Executive
  • The Heritage Alliance - Lizzie Glithero-West, Chief Executive
  • Natural England - James Cross, Chief Executive
  • The National Trust - Hilary McGrady, Director General
  • Historic Houses - Dr Ben Cowell, Director General
Published 3 May 2018