News story

New Ofcom board members announced

Dame Patricia Hodgson and Dame Lynne Brindley have been appointed as Non-Executive Directors of Ofcom, has Jeremy Hunt announced.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Dame Patricia Hodgson will join the Board on July 1 and the appointment is for three-and-a-half-years.  She will also become Deputy Chairman on January 1 next year. 

Dame Lynne Brindley will take up the position on September 1 for three years.

The Culture Secretary said: “I am pleased to announce that Dame Patricia Hodgson and Dame Lynne Brindley are joining the Ofcom board. 

“It is essential the regulator has people with extensive skills and experience on its board.  I am delighted to be appointing two such people.

“They will bring a wealth of experience and expertise to the regulator.  I have no doubt they will play a major part in helping Ofcom carry out its essential role.”

Dame Patricia Hodgson is Principal of Newnham College, Cambridge, a Non-Executive Director of the Competition Commission and Member of the Higher Education Funding Council for England. She was Chief Executive of the Independent Television Commission before it merged to form Ofcom in 2003.  She has stepped down as a Member of the BBC Trust in order to take up her role at Ofcom.

Dame Lynne Brindley has been Chief Executive Officer of The British Library since 2000.  She is a Member of the Arts & Humanities Research Council and a Board Member of the Creative Industries Knowledge Transfer Network.  She has stepped down as a Member of the Strategic Management Board for super-fast broadband for Cornwall & the Scilly Isles in order to take up her role at Ofcom.  She was formerly Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leeds, Director of Information Services at the London School of Economics and senior management consultant at KPMG.

Notes to Editors

  1. The appointment of the Ofcom board members was made on merit following a fair, open and transparent process, regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. The OCPA Code of Practice is available on the website for the Commissioner for Public Appointments.
  2. The appointment is made by the Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport.
  3. Ofcom Non-Executive Directors receive £42,519 a year for up to two days per week.  The Deputy Chairman receives £70,000 a year for up to two-and-a-half days a week.

Press Enquiries: 020 7211 2210
Out of hours telephone pager no: 07699 751153
Public Enquiries: 020 7211 6000

Published 8 March 2012