News story

New Foreign Office ministerial team

Prime Minister David Cameron has announced the new Foreign Office ministerial team and their portfolios.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Secretary of State for Foreign & Commonwealth Affairs: Rt Hon William Hague MP:

  • Overall responsibility for the work of the Office
  • Policy Unit
  • Honours
  • Intelligence policy
  • Cyber security

Senior Minister of State: Rt Hon Baroness Warsi

  • Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh
  • Central Asia
  • Human Rights
  • UN, International Organisations and ICC
  • All of FCO business in the Lords

Minister of State for Europe: Rt Hon David Lidington MP

  • European Union (including Gibraltar and SBAs)
  • Europe, including Balkans, Ukraine, Belarus and Moldova
  • Russia, South Caucasus,
  • NATO and European Security
  • OSCE and Council of Europe
  • FCO relations with Parliament
  • Communications
  • FCO Finance
  • Estates and Security
  • Information and Technology

Minister of State: Rt Hon Hugo Swire MP * Far East and South East Asia * India and Nepal * Latin America (including: Dominican Republic, Haiti and Cuba) * Falklands * Australasia and Pacific * Commonwealth * Migration * Emerging Powers Co-ordination * Public diplomacy, Olympics legacy and the GREAT campaign * International Economy * Prosperity work, including FCO’s relations with British Business, in support of Lord Green * Drugs and International Crime

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State: Alistair Burt MP

  • Counter Terrorism
  • Counter Proliferation
  • Counter Piracy
  • North America
  • Middle East and North Africa
  • Maldives and Sri Lanka
  • Defence policy (except NATO and European Security)
  • Human Resources and Diversity
  • Ministerial correspondence

Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State: Mark Simmonds MP

  • Africa
  • Overseas Territories (not Falklands, SBAs or Gibraltar)
  • Conflict Issues
  • Climate Change
  • International Energy
  • Consular
  • Protocol
  • Ministerial Oversight for FCO Services
  • The Caribbean (not including Dominican Republic, Haiti or Cuba)

Minister for Trade and Investment: Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint

  • Leading on FCO relations with British Business
  • Commercial Economic Diplomacy Department
  • Economics Unit
  • UK Trade and Investment (joint Minister with Dept. for Business, Innovation and Skills)
  • Export Credits Guarantee Department (ECGD)
  • Spokesman for the Government on trade and investment issues in the House of Lords
  • Business policy
Published 6 September 2012