Press release

New appointments to the Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission

News on who has been appointed to help improve social mobility and reduce child poverty in the UK.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission announced on 17 December 2012, the appointment of its members.

Eight people from the worlds of academia, politics, business, child welfare and social mobility have been appointed to support the work of chairman Alan Milburn.

The appointees are:

  • Baroness Gillian Shephard, currently Chair of the Council of the Institute of Education and former Education Secretary, who has also been appointed Deputy Chair to the Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission
  • Anne Marie Carrie, Chief Executive of Barnardo’s
  • David Johnston, Chief Executive of the Social Mobility Foundation
  • Tom Attwood, currently a non-executive director at the Centre for Social Justice and formerly Managing Director of the Intermediate Capital Group
  • Paul Gregg, Professor of Economic and Social Policy, and Director of the Centre for Analysis and Social Policy at the University of Bath
  • Paul Cleal, Head of Government and Public Sector at PwC
  • Catriona Williams, Chief Executive of Children in Wales, appointed by the Welsh government to represent Wales
  • Douglas Hamilton, Head of Save the Children Scotland, appointed by the Scottish government to represent Scotland

These members will join the commission’s board. Their appointment means the commission is now fully operational and can begin its work to ensure that the government makes real progress in freeing children from the burden of poverty and ensuring everyone has the opportunity to fulfil their potential.

Nick Clegg, the Deputy Prime Minister, said:

I welcome the appointment of these members of the commission. Everyone should have the same opportunities, whatever their circumstances or the background they are born into, and the commission has an important role to play in achieving that outcome.

Iain Duncan Smith, Work and Pensions Secretary, said:

This government is committed to eradicating child poverty and the commission has an important role to play in this work. I welcome the appointment of these new members today. I look forward to working closely with the commission as we develop a better measurement of child poverty, so we can tackle the root causes of poverty and bring real change to children’s lives.

David Laws, Minister of State for Schools, said:

We want to give children and families as much support as we can. The pupil premium and the expansion of early education are giving poorer children a better start in life. I am pleased that so many distinguished people are playing a role in the commission’s work to help us improve social mobility and reduce child poverty.

Alan Milburn, Chair of The Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission, said:

I am delighted to welcome the new members of the commission. The skills and experience they bring will be vital in helping the government realise the ambition of moving children out of poverty and giving everyone the opportunity to succeed.

Notes to editors

  1. The Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission is an advisory non-departmental public body established under the Welfare Reform Act 2012. It monitors the government’s progress in improving social mobility and reducing child poverty in the United Kingdom. It will also monitor the implementation of the most recent UK, Scottish, and Welsh child poverty strategies, and challenge non-government institutions such as those in higher education, business and elsewhere to improve their performance on social mobility.

  2. The UK Government appointed Alan Milburn as the Chair of the Commission on 16 July 2012. Appointments to the UK Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission are regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments and made in accordance with the commissioner’s code of practice for ministerial appointments to public bodies.

  3. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity, if any declared, to be made public. Baroness Shepherd is affiliated to the Conservative Party.

  4. Neil O’Brien, who was formerly appointed Deputy Chair of the Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission, has now stepped down following appointment to another post.

  5. The UK Government is currently consulting on child poverty measurement. The consultation closes on 15 February 2013.

DfE enquiries

Central newsdesk - for journalists 020 7783 8300

General enquiries - for members of the public 0370 000 2288

Published 17 December 2012