News story

New appointments to the Independent Police Complaints Commission

Four new Commissioners to take up IPCC roles.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Policing Minister Damian Green
Policing Minister Damian Green

Two new operational Commissioners have been appointed to the Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC), Policing Minister Damian Green announced today.

They will replace Deborah Glass and provide cover for Commissioners overseeing the organisation’s ongoing investigation into the Hillsborough disaster.

Carl Gumsley will start on 27 May and Kathryn Stone on 7 July. Both are full-time positions and will be based in the IPCC’s Wakefield office.

Two non-executive Commissioners - David Bird and Sue Whelan-Tracy - have also been appointed to the IPCC and have already taken up their new roles.

All four appointments are for an initial four-year term.

Vital role

Policing Minister Damian Green said:

I am pleased to announce these appointments to the IPCC. They will play a vital role in the commission’s work to build public confidence in the police complaints system.

IPCC Commissioners are public appointments, made entirely on merit and in accordance with the Code of Practice issued by the Office of Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA).

Published 2 May 2014