Press release

New appointment to Royal Mint Advisory Committee

HM Treasury has announced the appointment of a new member of the Royal Mint Advisory Committee.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


HM Treasury has announced the appointment of a new member of the Royal Mint Advisory Committee.

Mr Edmund de Waal OBE will take up the appointment, with effect from 1 May 2012, for an initial term of five years, with the option of a further five-year term. The vacancy arose as a result of Miss Mary Anne Stevens reaching the end of her term of office.

Notes for Editors

1. Mr de Waal is a distinguished artist and writer of international standing and is a member of Arts Advisory Committee, National Museum of Wales.

2. The Royal Mint Advisory Committee on the Design of Coins, Medals, Seals and Decorations was established in 1922 with the personal approval of King George V. Its purpose is to advise the Chancellor of the Exchequer on new designs for United Kingdom coins and to advise other Government departments on new designs for official medals and seals. It is classed as an Advisory Non-Departmental Public Body (Lower Tier).

3. The above appointment was made in accordance with the Code of Practice published by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public. Mr De Waal has confirmed he has not engaged in any political activity in the last five years. He holds no other ministerial appointments.

Published 11 June 2012