News story

New ACAS council members appointed

• Vikki Hawes and Paul Butler have been appointed as Employer representative members. • Jonathan Baume and Paul Nowak have been appointed as…

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


• Vikki Hawes and Paul Butler have been appointed as Employer representative members.

• Jonathan Baume and Paul Nowak have been appointed as Employee representative members.

These appointees will replace two existing members of the council whose appointments are due to end this month, and fill two vacancies.

Employment Relations Minister Edward Davey said:

“I am delighted to welcome Vikki Hawes, Paul Butler, Jonathan Baume and Paul Nowak to the Acas Council. They bring with them a wealth of experience. Acas provides a well-respected, independent and trusted service, and I hope the new appointees to the council will use their valuable expertise to help the organisation continue with its success.”

Acas Chair Ed Sweeney said:

“I’m extremely pleased to welcome our new colleagues to the Acas Council. Their breadth of knowledge and expertise of the world of work and employment relations will help us continue our role in helping Britain’s workplaces be as effective as they can through good working relations.”

The appointees will take up their places on the council by the end of November.

Notes to Editors

  1. Acas aims to improve organisations and working life through better employment relations. They provide up-to-date information, independent advice, high-quality training and work with employers and employees to solve workplace problems and improve performance. More information can be found at** ** **It is an independent statutory body governed by a Council of twelve consisting of the Acas Chair, employer, trade union and independent members.

  2. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity (if any declared) to be made public.

  3. The new appointment was made following an open selection process conducted in accordance with the Code of Practice and other guidance issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments, and in conformity with section 248 of the Trade Union and Labour Relations (Consolidation) Act 1992.

  4. The appointments are for three years, ending on 30 April 2013. They will each receive an annual payment of £1695 and, in addition, £172 for each day they work on Council business.

5. **Paul Butler’s career in brief:**

  • Training and Development.

  • Management.

  • Community Economic Development.

  • Managing Director, Butler and Trinity Ltd 2010

  • CEO PATH National Ltd, 2000-08

  • Project Director Ethnic Minority Foundation 1998-2000

**Committee Membership/representations: **

**Current Board: **

Chair of London Voluntary Services Council

Board Association of Colleges - London Region

Chair of Leyton Sixth Form College

Previous Appointments:

• London Learning & Skills Council Board

• Board of Quality Improvement Agency

• Cross party inclusion and workforce skills

• Learning and Skills Development Agency

• London Health Commission.

• Board of Bethnal Green City Challenge

• English Churches Housing Group - England Committee.

6. **Jonathan Baume’s career in brief:**

  • MA Hons Politics Philosophy and Economics

  • General Secretary [Chief Executive] of the FDA since 1997

  • Deputy General Secretary of the FDA 1989-97

  • Previous roles in the TUC and CPSA

**Committee Membership/representations: **

  • DTI/BIS: Age Advisory Group/ DRA Stakeholder Engagement Group 2004-10

  • TUC General Council 2001 to date

  • TUC Executive Committee

  • Ministerial Advisory Group on Implementation of the Freedom of Information Act 2001-04

7. **Vikki Hawes’ career in brief: **

  • BA (Hons) European Studies, Post-graduate Diploma in Labour Studies

  • Director of Aldridge Consulting Ltd providing strategic HR solutions and interim management 2011-

Between 2000-10 held a variety of posts at Royal Mail:

  • Human Resources Director (Midland Region) 2009-10

  • People and Organisational Development Director (Network Division) 2005-09

  • People and Organisational Development Director (Logistics) 2003-05

  • Head of Human Resources in the Logistics business of Royal Mail. 2002-2003

  • Head of Employee Relations in the Logistics business of Royal Mail 2000-02

**Committee Membership/representations: **

  • Member of the European Coaching and Mentoring Council and accredited to Level 5 in business performance and executive coaching.

  • Affiliate member of the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport and Logistics Leaders Network.

  • Member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development

8. **Paul Nowak’s Career in brief: **

  • BA Hons Urban Studies.

  • Head, Organisation and Services TUC, 2009 to date.

  • National Organiser TUC, 2002-2009

  • Regional Secretary TUC, 2000-2002

  • Prior to 2000 held a variety of public and private sector posts, including Policy & Campaigns Officer TUC.

Committee Membership/representations:

  • Member of the GMB Union and the Labour Party

  • Author of chapters in the publications “Building Stronger Unions: A Review of Organizing in Britain” (2009) and “Beyond New Unionism” (2004), as well as various articles in Tribune, The Chartist and other periodicals.

  • Member of Unions 21 Steering Committee

  • Regularly blogs at and ‘. Twitter account is @nowak_paul

  1. The existing members of the Acas Council are:
  • Ed Sweeney, Chair;

  • Dr Mary Bousted, General Secretary, Association of Teachers and Lecturers

  • John Hannett, General Secretary, USDAW

  • Professor Jonathan Michie, Director of Continuing Education, University of Oxford

  • Professor Linda Dickens, Professor of Industrial Relations, University of Warwick

  • Susan Anderson, Director, Public Service and Skills, CBI

  • Nicola Templeman, Independent Financial Adviser; and

  • Jennifer Eady QC, Employment Law Barrister.

  1. The outgoing members are Sarah Anderson and Sarah Veale, who stepped down at the end of October following the completion of two terms in office. The third post is to fill a vacancy which resulted from the departure of Derek Simpson at the end of December 2010, when he stepped down following completion of his 1st term of appointment on the Acas Council. The remaining vacancy is to fill the post vacated by the recent resignation of Peter Bennett who was reappointed for a second term in January 2011, but subsequently decided to step down.

  2. BIS’s online newsroom contains the latest press notices, speeches, as well as video and images for download. It also features an up to date list of BIS press office contacts. See []( for more information.

Notes to Editors

Contact Information

Name BIS Press Office Job Title

Division COI Phone




Name Lucy Bell Job Title

Division Department for Business, Innovation and Skills Phone 020 7215 5361 Fax



Published 22 November 2011