Press release

Members appointed to the Council for Science and Technology

The Prime Minister has appointed 11 new members to the Council for Science and Technology (CST).

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

The CST is the UK government’s top-level advisory body on science and technology policy issues. It reports directly to the Prime Minister.

Prime Minister David Cameron said:

It will be our scientists, researchers, engineers and entrepreneurs who will prove crucial in driving growth and creating the jobs and opportunities for the future. That is why despite some tough spending decisions we have protected our funding for science and focused on being the most pro-business, pro-growth government there has been.

We have some of the worlds best scientists, leading technologies, cutting edge facilities and the most innovative hi-tech companies, and it is our determination that we do all that we can to ensure the UK remains one of the world leaders in this field.

That is why I am delighted that I can announce the appointment of such a high calibre team, with such a broad range of experience to the Council for Science and Technology.

The newly appointed members are:

  • Professor Keith Burnett FRS - Vice-Chancellor of Sheffield University
  • Professor Steven Cowley - CEO of the UKAEA
  • Professor Dame Sandra Dawson - Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge University
  • Mr Rowan Douglas - CEO of Willis Re Global Analytics and Chairman of Willis Research Network
  • Dr Paul Golby CBE, FREng - Chairman and CEO of E.ON UK and Pro-Chancellor of Aston University
  • Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow FMedSci - Vice-Chancellor University of Kent
  • Dr Michael Lynch - CEO of Autonomy Corporation plc
  • Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell FRS FMedSci - President and Vice-Chancellor of Manchester University
  • Mr Colin Smith FREng - Director of Engineering and Technology at Rolls-Royce
  • Professor Christopher Snowden FRS FREng - Vice-Chancellor and CEO of Surrey University
  • Dr Graham Spittle CBE - Vice-President and Chief Technology Officer Europe at IBM and Chair of the Technology Strategy Board

CST’s terms of reference are:

To advise the Prime Minister on the strategic policies and framework for:

  • sustaining and developing science, engineering technology and mathematics (STEM) in the UK, and promoting international co-operation in STEM
  • fostering the practice and perception of science, engineering and technology as an integral part of the culture of the UK
  • promoting excellence in STEM education
  • making more effective use of research and scientific advice in the development and delivery of policy and public services across Government
  • promoting STEM-based innovation in business and the public services to promote the sustainable development of the UK economy, the health and quality of life of UK citizens, and global sustainable development

The Council will work on cross-cutting issues of strategic importance, taking a medium to longer term approach. In developing its advice it will take into account the cultural, economic, environmental, ethical and social context of developments in STEM.

Notes to editors

1. Further background on the Council can be found at

2. Earlier this year the PM re-appointed 5 members and 4 ex-officio members. The 5 re-appointed members are:

  • Professor Dame Janet Finch CBE - Professor of Sociology Manchester University and ex-Vice-Chancellor of Keele University
  • Dr Hermann Hauser Hon CBE, FREng - Venture Capitalist and co-Founder of Amadeus Capital Partners
  • Professor Alan Hughes - Director of the Centre for Business Research at Cambridge University
  • Professor Michael Sterling FREng - Chairman of the Science and Technology Facilities Council
  • Sir Mark Walport FMedSci FRS - Director of the Wellcome Trust

The 4 ex-officio members are:

  • The President of the Royal Society - Sir Paul Nurse FRS
  • The President of the Royal Academy of Engineering - Lord Browne FRS FREng
  • The President of the Academy of Medical Sciences - Sir John Bell PMedSci FRS Hon FREng
  • The President of the British Academy - Sir Adam Roberts FBA

The Prime Minister also re-appointed Professor Dame Janet Finch as independent co-chair of CST (to 31 December 2011), alongside the Government Chief Scientific Adviser, currently Professor Sir John Beddington.

3. The CST members are senior, highly respected people active in the worlds of academia and business and from charitable sponsors and professional bodies. They were appointed in accordance with the guidance from the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

4. Members are not normally remunerated except for reasonable travel and subsistence expenses.

Published 29 June 2011