News story

International Fund for Ireland Appointments

The British and Irish Governments announced today new appointments to the Board of the International Fund for Ireland.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government



The British and Irish Governments announced today new appointments to the Board of the International Fund for Ireland.  The appointments are:-

Dr A Johnston, Chairman

Ms D Clarke

Ms R Farrell

Mrs S Fitzpatrick

Mr B Gamble

Mr D Graham

Mr W Patterson

In announcing these appointments, the two Governments expressed their very warm appreciation for the exceptional services given by the outgoing Board Members whose term of office had ended.

Notes to Editors

The International Fund for Ireland is an international organisation established by the British and Irish Governments in 1986 with the objectives of promoting economic and social advance and of encouraging contact, dialogue and reconciliation between Nationalists and Unionists throughout Ireland.  Contributors to the Fund are the United States, the European Union, Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

Dr Johnston, Mr Graham, Ms Farrell and Mr Patterson who were Members of the previous Board have been re-appointed for a further term.  The retiring Members of the previous Board are Dr Rooney (Chairman), Mrs Henderson and Ms Southwell.

Dr A Johnston is currently an Engineer with Seagate and based in Londonderry.

Ms D Clarke is a graduate of NUI Galway and previously worked as CEO of Leitrim County Enterprise Board.

Ms R Farrell is currently based in Dundalk and is engaged in a wide range of community activities in Co Louth.

Mrs S Fitzpatrick is the Chief Executive of Early Years had has previously worked in the statutory sector within Health and Social Services.

Mr B Gamble is an Economics graduate from Queens University and senior civil servant who has been responsible for developing a number of key government policies in the area of community relations.

Mr D Graham is the retired Chief Executive of Fane Valley and has had business interests in Northern Ireland and the Republic.

Mr W Patterson is based in Donegal and is Chairman of Strabane/Lifford Development Commission and has interests in the voluntary and community sector.

Published 9 March 2012