Press release

Government reappoints 3 Commissioners to the independent Low Pay Commission

Jo Swinson announces the reappointment of Commissioners to the indpendent Low Pay Commission.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


Employment Relations Minister Jo Swinson has announced today (22 December 2014) the reappointment of 3 Commissioners to the Low Pay Commission, the body responsible for providing advice on the National Minimum Wage (NMW).

John Hannett has been reappointed for a further 2 year term commencing from 1 January 2015 to 31 March 2017. Neil Goulden and Professor Robert Elliott have had their terms extended for a further 3 months commencing on 1 January 2015 until 20 March 2015. All 3 appointments are made in accordance with the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments (OCPA) guidelines.

Employment Relations Minister Jo Swinson said:

I am delighted to reappoint John Hannett, Neil Goulden and Professor Elliott to the Low Pay Commission. They bring a wealth of skills and expertise and I look forward to continuing our work together.

The National Minimum Wage has been a great success since it was introduced, making millions of workers better off.

The independent Low Pay Commission gives the government the expert and impartial advice that is essential to this continued success.

Notes to Editors

1.Biographies of reappointed Commissioners:

John Hannett

John Hannett became a Low Pay Commissioner on 1 May 2007. He is General Secretary of the Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers (USDAW) and a member of Acas council. John also sits on the Trade Union Congress (TUC) Executive Committee and General Council.

Neil Goulden

Neil Goulden became a Low Pay Commissioner on 16 April 2007 and was reappointed for 4 years on 1 January 2011. He is a Director, Neil Goulden Consulting Limited, Chairman (emeritus), The Gala Coral Group and Chairman of Affinity Sutton Housing Association,

Neil is also a Non-Executive Director, and Chairman of the Audit Committee, at Marston’s plc and Chairman of Access Sport, a charity dedicated to transforming young people’s lives in deprived areas through sport in the community, and a Trustee of Sue Ryder.

Professor Robert Elliott

Professor Elliott became a Low Pay Commissioner on 1 April 2007 and was reappointed on 1 January 2011 for 4 years. He is Professor of Economics in the Health Economics Research Unit (HERU) at the University of Aberdeen and was Director of HERU from 2001 to 2012.

He has been a visiting Professor at universities in the USA, Australia and Europe including Cornell, IUPUI, New York, Stanford and Wisconsin, in the USA, Melbourne and Queensland in Australia, Universita Cattolica, Milan, Italy and Paris ll France. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

2.The Low Pay Commission is a non-departmental public body responsible for providing advice on the National Minimum Wage (NMW). The commission reports to the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister and the Secretary of State, and consists of a chair and 8 other members with expertise in employee and labour relations.

3.The Low Pay Commission monitors, evaluates and reviews the impact of the NMW, with particular reference to the effect on pay, employment and competitiveness in low paying sectors and small firms; the effect on different groups of workers; the effect on pay structures, and the interaction between the NMW and the tax and benefit systems. The commission reviews the level of the NMW adult rate, the youth rates, and the apprentice rate and makes recommendations, if appropriate, for change.

4.The appointments to the Low Pay Commission will take effect from 1 January 2015. Appointments require a commitment of, on average, 16 days per year (pro-rata). Remuneration is on the basis of a daily rate of £242.12.

5.These appointments were made following an open selection process conducted in accordance with the code of practice and other guidance issued by the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

Published 22 December 2014