News story

Culture Secretary Reappoints Ofcom Board Member

Culture Secretary Karen Bradley has reappointed Graham Mather, as an Ofcom non executive director, for 4 years from 1 June 2018 to 31 May 2022

Graham Mather was appointed to the Ofcom Board with effect from 1 June 2014. He is a member of Ofcom’s Nations Committee, Nominations Committee, Remuneration Committee and Risk and Audit Committee.

Graham Mather was a member of Ofcom’s Consumer Panel from 2004 to 2008. He served as a member of the Monopolies and Mergers Commission and, between 2000 and 2012, was also member of the Competition Appeal Tribunal, the body that deals with appeals from the UK regulators. Graham is currently the President of the European Policy Forum and Chairman of its Regulatory Best Practice Group. Graham is a member of the Board of the Office of Rail and Road.

He was appointed CBE in the Queen’s 2017 Birthday Honours list for services to economic regulation, competition and infrastructure development.

Ofcom Board Members are remunerated, £42,519 per annum.

These appointment have been made in accordance with the Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments. The appointments process is regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments. Under the Code, any significant political activity undertaken by an appointee in the last five years must be declared. This is defined as including holding office, public speaking, making a recordable donation, or candidature for election. Graham has declared no such political activity.

Published 14 August 2017