News story

Culture Secretary makes appointments to the Treasure Valuation Committee

Roger Bland OBE and Christopher Martin appointed for five years from 7 February 2016, and Tim Pestell reappointed for two years from 12 February 2016.

Biographical details

Professor Roger Bland OBE

Roger Bland was Keeper of the Department of Britain, Europe and Prehistory at the British Museum, until July 2015, with responsibility for Portable Antiquities & Treasure. He is President of the British Numismatic Society and Vice-President of the Royal Numismatic Society. He is involved in writing and teaching, and is currently a Visiting Professor at the School of Archaeology and Ancient History, University of Leicester, and churchwarden of St Margaret’s church, Cley-next-Sea in Norfolk.

Christopher Martin

Christopher Martin is the proprietor and Managing Director of CJ Martin Coins and Ancient Art Ltd, and St James’s Ancient Art. He is also Chairman of the British Numismatic Trade Association, and of the Antiquities Dealers Association. He has extensive experience of independent valuation of antiquities, gained over some 40 years of trading.

Dr Tim Pestell

Dr Pestell is Senior Curator of Archaeology at Norfolk Museums Service, responsible for the post-Roman collections. Prior to that he was a self-employed archaeologist, carrying out post-excavation work, small finds reports and small archaeological evaluations. Between 1998-2002, he also lectured at the University of East Anglia, teaching Landscape Archaeology and History.

These roles are unpaid. All three new Committee members hold no other public appointments, and have each declared no political activity in the United Kingdom in the past 5 years.

Published 4 February 2016