News story

Change of British High Commissioner to the Republic of Kenya

Dr Christian Turner has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of Kenya.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

He will succeed Mr Robert Macaire who has left the Diplomatic Service.

Dr Turner will take up his appointment in June 2012; Dr Peter Tibber will continue as interim High Commissioner until then.

Dr Turner is currently the Director for the Middle East and North Africa in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, where he has responsibility for all UK policy and operations in that region. Prior to this he served variously in the British Embassy in Washington, as Private Secretary to the Prime Minister and in the Prime Minister’s Strategy Unit. This followed work in television and completion of his PhD research. He is married to Claire and they have a son and a daughter.

On his appointment as British High Commissioner to the Republic of Kenya, Dr Turner has said: “I am honoured to have the opportunity to serve in Kenya at such a pivotal period. I will do all I can to deepen the strong and historic ties between our two countries, and to bring energy and experience to further our shared political, economic and security objectives.”

Christian Turner was appointed CMG in the in the 2012 New Years Honours for his contribution to British Foreign policy.

Curriculum vitae

Full name:

Dr Christian Philip Hollier Turner

Nov 2009-present

FCO, Director Middle East and North Africa

April 2008-Nov 2009

FCO, Deputy Director Middle East and North Africa

Sept 2007-April 2008

Cabinet Officer, Deputy Director Middle East, North Africa and North America, Overseas and Defence Secretariat

June 2007-Sept2007

No10, Private Secretary to the Prime Minister

Oct 2006-July 2007

Tehran, Deputy Head of Mission Designate (postponed)


British Embassy Washington, First Secretary


Prime Minister’s Strategy Unit


Private Secretary to Minister of State, Cabinet Office


Secretary to Economics and Domestic Committees of Cabinet


Secretary to Better Regulation Task Force

Published 13 February 2012