Press release

Appointment of Lord Justices of Appeal: July 2015

The Queen has approved the appointment of 4 Lord Justices of Appeal.


The Queen has been pleased to approve the appointment of the following as Lord Justices of Appeal: Mr Justice Hamblen, Mr Justice Lindblom, Mr Justice (David) Richards and Mr Justice Simon.

These appointments will fill forthcoming vacancies in the Court of Appeal arising from autumn 2015.

Further information

These appointments are required in the light of forthcoming retirements in the Court of Appeal.

The appointment of Lord and Lady Justices of the Court of Appeal are made by Her Majesty The Queen on the advice of the Prime Minister and the Lord Chancellor following the recommendation of an independent selection panel chaired by Lord Chief Justice, Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd. The other panel members were: the Master of the Rolls, Lord Dyson, Christopher Stephens, Chairman of the Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC), Professor Noel Lloyd (a lay Commissioner nominated by the Chairman of the JAC) and Ms Debra van Gene ( a lay Commissioner nominated by the Lord Chief Justice in consultation with the Chairman of the JAC).

In accordance with section 79 of the Constitutional Reform Act 2005 as amended by the Crime and Courts Act 2013 the panel determined the selection process to be followed. In accordance with s10(3) of the Senior Courts Act 1981, the selection exercise was open to applicants that satisfied the judicial eligibility condition on a 7 year basis or were Judges of the High Court.

Biographical notes

Mr Justice Hamblen

Mr Justice Hamblen was called to the Bar, Lincoln’s Inn, 1981 and practised at the Commercial Bar from 1982 to 2008. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1997. He was appointed Assistant Recorder in 1999–2000; Recorder, 2000–08. A Judge of the High Court, Queen’s Bench Division, since 2008 and designated as a Judge of the Commercial Court.

Mr Justice Lindblom

Mr Justice Lindblom was called to the Bar of England and Wales at Gray’s Inn in 1980. He was called to the Bar of Northern Ireland in 2002. He was admitted to the Hong Kong Bar in 2000 and 2008, and to the Bar of the Turks and Caicos Islands in 2006. He became a Bencher of Gray’s Inn in 2003. He practised as a barrister from 1981 to 2010, was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1996, became a Recorder in 2001 and was authorised to sit as a Deputy High Court Judge in 2009. He has been a Judge of the High Court of Justice, Queen’s Bench Division, since October 2010, President of the Upper Tribunal (Lands Chamber) since 2013, and Planning Liaison Judge (the lead judge of the Planning Court) since 2014.

Mr Justice (David) Richards

Mr Justice (David) Richards was called to the Bar, Inner Temple, 1974. Bencher, Lincoln’s Inn, in 2000. Junior Counsel (Chancery), DTI, 1989–92. He became Queen’s Counsel 1992. Contrib 2000–, Joint General Editor 2009–, Buckley on the Companies Acts. A Judge of the High Court, Chancery Division, since 2003. Vice Chancellor, County Palatine of Lancaster, 2008–11.

Mr Justice Simon

Mr Justice Simon was called to the Bar, Middle Temple, 1973. Bencher in 1999. He became Queen’s Counsel in 1991. A Recorder in 1998–2002. A Deputy High Court Judge in 1999–2002. A Judge of the High Court, Queen’s Bench Division, since 2002; Presiding Judge, North Eastern Circuit, 2006–08.

Published 24 July 2015