News story

2013 Lord Glenamara Memorial prize winner announced

La’ali Imam-Gutierrez from Heaton Manor School in Newcastle wins the 2013 prize.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


The prize rewards young people in the north-east for outstanding academic achievements and civic contributions, as well as an active interest in history, politics, or public service.

The Secretary of State for Education will present La’ali Imam-Gutierrez from Heaton Manor School in Newcastle with her prize at the London School of Economics in February.

The 9 runners up are:

Alexandra Campbell Fyndoune Community College, Durham
Amelia Hughes Carmel College, Darlington
Angus Kirk The King Edward VI School Morpeth, Northumberland
Ben Rowden The King’s Academy, Middlesbrough
Catherine Hunter Ponteland High School, Northumberland
Dominic Lynn Durham Community Business College, Durham
Jonathan McGuigan Prudhoe Community High School, Northumberland
Kieran Parker Castle View Enterprise Academy, Sunderland
Samantha Hunter Bishop Barrington School, Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Find out more about the Lord Glenamara Memorial Prize, Lord Glenamara and the 2012 winner.

Published 14 January 2014