Ministerial role

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport


The minister is responsible for:

  • high speed rail (HS2)
  • devolution including Northern Powerhouse
  • motoring agencies
  • local transport
  • road and vehicle safety and standards
  • buses and taxis
  • traffic management
  • sustainable accessible travel (including walking and cycling)
  • smart ticketing

Current role holder: Andrew Jones MP

Andrew Jones was appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at Department for Transport in May 2015. He was elected the Conservative MP for Harrogate and Knaresborough in May 2010.


Andrew is from Ilkley, and attended Bradford Grammar School and Leeds University.

Political career

From May 2003 to May 2011 Andrew was a local councillor on Harrogate Borough Council, representing the High Harrogate ward. He was also Cabinet Member for Resources from May 2003 to May 2010.

Since being elected in 2010, Andrew has been a Parliamentary Private Secretary on the health, business and transport teams. He has also chaired the Northern Electrification Taskforce which provided the Secretary of State for Transport with advice on the next steps for electrification of railways in the North of England.

Career outside politics

Andrew worked in sales and marketing for Bettys and Taylors of Harrogate.


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Funding for smart parking and traffic management schemes

    • Speech
  2. £4 million awarded for tech which gives motorists advance notice of congestion and available parking spaces

    • News story
  3. Changes and challenges facing UK bus industry

    • Speech
  4. Law change demands equal treatment for disabled taxi users

    • News story
  5. Address to the National Roads Policing Conference

    • Speech
  6. £64 million government funding to encourage more cycling and walking to work

    • News story
  7. Mersey Gateway transport

    • Statement to Parliament
  8. Boost for motorists as government proposes no MOT test for first 4 years

    • News story
  9. Government allocates £1.2 billion roads funding to councils

    • News story
  10. Plans to let learner drivers have motorway driving lessons revealed

    • News story