Ministerial role

Lord President of the Council


Current role holder: The Rt Hon David Lidington MP

David Lidington was appointed Leader of the House of Commons and Lord President of the Council on 14 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for Aylesbury in 1992.


David was educated at The Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School and Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge where he studied history.

Political career

David was elected Member of Parliament for Aylesbury in 1992 and has held a number of positions including Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland from 2003 to 2007 and Shadow Minister for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs from 2007 to 2010.

David served as Minister of State at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) from May 2010 until July 2016.

Career outside politics

David worked for BP and Rio Tinto – Zinc Corporation (RTZ) before spending 3 years as Special Advisor to Douglas Hurd in the Home Office and Foreign Office.

Personal life

David is married to Helen and has 4 sons.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP

    • 2015 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon Nick Clegg MP

    • 2010 to 2015