Ministerial role

Leader of the House of Commons


The Leader of the House of Commons organises government business in the House of Commons and works closely with the government’s Chief Whip.

Current role holder: The Rt Hon David Lidington

David Lidington was appointed Leader of the House of Commons and Lord President of the Council on 14 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for Aylesbury in 1992.


David was educated at The Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School and Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge where he studied history.

Political career

David was elected Member of Parliament for Aylesbury in 1992 and has held a number of positions including Shadow Secretary of State for Northern Ireland from 2003 to 2007 and Shadow Minister for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs from 2007 to 2010.

David served as Minister of State at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) from May 2010 until July 2016.

Career outside politics

David worked for BP and Rio Tinto – Zinc Corporation (RTZ) before spending 3 years as Special Advisor to Douglas Hurd in the Home Office and Foreign Office.

Personal life

David is married to Helen and has 4 sons.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Chris Grayling

    • 2015 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon William Hague

    • 2014 to 2015


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Westminster welcomes Welsh language at the Welsh grand committee

    • News story
  2. MPs to debate proposals for fair votes for English laws

    • Press release
  3. New Parliament conference: Chris Grayling speech

    • Speech
  4. Funding announced for veterans to attend VE Day 70 Commemorations

    • Press release
  5. Victory in Europe (VE) Day celebrations

    • Press release
  6. Global Summit to End Sexual Violence in Conflict Report published

    • Press release
  7. Cabinet Committee for devolved powers: statement on first meeting

    • Press release
  8. Hague and Jolie welcome DRC Army Action Plan on Sexual Violence

    • Press release