Ministerial role

First Secretary of State


Current role holder: The Rt Hon George Osborne MP

George Osborne became Chancellor of the Exchequer in May 2010 and was appointed First Secretary of State in May 2015. He was elected the Conservative MP for Tatton, Cheshire in June 2001.


He was born and educated in London, studying modern history at Oxford University.

Political career

George worked as Political Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition before being elected to Parliament. He entered Parliament as the youngest Conservative MP in the House of Commons.

After serving on the Public Accounts Committee and holding a number of shadow ministerial posts, he was appointed to the position of Shadow Chancellor in 2005, aged 33, where he served opposite Chancellors Gordon Brown and Alistair Darling until 2010.

In 2005 he successfully ran David Cameron’s campaign to become Leader of the Conservative Party. Following the 2010 Election he was part of the small Conservative negotiating team during the discussions that led to the formation of the Coalition Government. In May 2010 he became Chancellor of the Exchequer.

He was the youngest Chancellor to take office since Randolph Churchill in 1886.

Personal life

George is married to the writer Frances Osborne. They have 2 children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon William Hague

    • 2010 to 2015


  1. Employment
  2. Personal tax reform
  3. Access to financial services
  4. Bank regulation
  5. Business tax reform
  6. Deficit reduction
  7. Financial services regulation
  8. Government spending
  9. Tax evasion and avoidance
  10. UK economic growth


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Chancellor's statement on Greece

    • 29 June 2015
    • Speech
  2. Chancellor announces £4½ billion of measures to bring down debt

    • 4 June 2015
    • News story
  3. Chancellor extends successful Lloyds trading plan

    • 1 June 2015
    • News story
  4. Government ends six figure exit payouts

    • 23 May 2015
    • News story
  5. Veterans given special invitation to VE Day 70th anniversary celebrations

    • 1 April 2015
    • Press release
  6. William Hague launches new Women, Peace and Security Centre at LSE

    • 10 February 2015
    • Press release
  7. Joint Ministerial Committee communiqué: December 2014

    • 15 December 2014
    • News story
  8. William Hague calls for a stronger international response to the use of sexual violence in Iraq

    • 6 November 2014
    • Press release
  9. Hague welcomes South Sudan commitment to tackling sexual violence

    • 16 October 2014
    • Press release
  10. UK and Canada respond to sexual violence by ISIL in Iraq

    • 6 October 2014
    • Press release