Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Nigel Adams MP

Nigel Adams MP was appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Wales Office and Assistant Government Whip on 5 November 2018.

He was previously a Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government. He was also previously Government Whip (Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury), from January 2018 to November 2018.

He was an Assistant Government Whip from 15 June 2017 to 8 January 2018.

He was first appointed the Conservative MP for Selby and Ainsty in May 2010.

Image credit:

UK Parliament, used under Creative Commons.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Mims Davies MP

    • 2018 to 2018
  2. Craig Whittaker MP

    • 2017 to 2018