Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip

Current role holder: Tom Pursglove MP


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder

Tom Pursglove MP

Tom Pursglove was appointed as an Assistant Government Whip on 29 July 2019.

More about this person

Previous holders of this role

  1. Jo Churchill MP

    2018 to 2019

  2. Rebecca Harris MP

    2017 to 2018

  3. Heather Wheeler MP

    2016 to 2017

  4. Sarah Newton

    2015 to 2016