Ministerial role

Assistant Government Whip


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Graham Stuart MP

Graham Stuart was appointed as an Assistant Government Whip on 17 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for Beverley & Holderness in May 2005.

Previous holders of this role

  1. Guy Opperman MP

    • 2015 to 2016