UK-Pacific economic partnership agreement (EPA)

Documents containing treaty information and a summary of the agreement on trade between the UK and Pacific States.

An economic partnership agreement (EPA) is a type of free trade agreement for relationships with developing countries.

The countries covered by the UK-Pacific EPA are:

  • Fiji
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands

Samoa and the Solomon Islands have acceded to the agreement with effect from 31 March 2022.

Business guidance

You can:

Agreement documents

Read the agreement documents to understand what the agreement covers and how it might apply to your business.

The parliamentary report provides an explanation of the agreement, including any significant differences or enhancements. It also includes information on rules of origin and trade tariff quotas.

It also shows if the agreement is long form (a standalone agreement) or short form (you should also read the EU agreement).

The agreement document [MS No.15/2019] sets out how the agreement will be implemented in the UK, including any changes to UK legislation.



Published 21 March 2019
Last updated 9 February 2024 + show all updates
  1. Reports section added to the collection page.

  2. Addition of Samoa and Solomon Islands to list of countries covered by the UK-Pacific EPA.

  3. Added link to Memorandum of Understanding between the UK and Pacific states on the Economic Partnership Agreement for the Solomon Islands and Samoa.

  4. First published.