CARIFORUM-UK Economic Partnership Agreement

Documents relating to the CARIFORUM-UK Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA).

For signatories to the CARIFORUM-UK EPA, the agreement is expected to take effect if the UK leaves the EU without a deal, or at the end of an implementation period.

Summary of the agreement

The countries that will be covered by the CARIFORUM-UK EPA are:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • The Commonwealth of Dominica
  • The Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • The Republic of Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Christopher and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

The following countries are approved in principle and expected to sign shortly:

  • The Commonwealth of the Bahamas
  • The Republic of Suriname

The CARIFORUM-UK EPA maintains the effects of the CARIFORUM-EU EPA.

In the CARIFORUM-UK EPA, the UK commits to providing immediate duty-free, quota-free access to goods from CARIFORUM-UK EPA signatory states. In exchange, these CARIFORUM states commit to more gradual tariff liberalisation. However, sensitive products are excluded from full liberalisation.

The EPA allows for both parties to take measures to protect their markets in particular circumstances. The EPA envisages development support from the UK to ensure that it is effectively implemented, and that the opportunities it offers can be fully realised by the CARIFORUM states.

The EPA contains provisions on intellectual property and geographical indications, government procurement, competition, services and trade remedies.

Economic partnership agreements are development-focused trade agreements that aim to promote increased trade and investment. They contribute to sustainable growth and poverty reduction in developing countries.


Published 5 April 2019
Last updated 10 June 2019 + show all updates
  1. Antigua and Barbuda have been moved to the list of countries that have signed the treaty.
  2. First published.