Appointments taken up by former ministers (2018-2019)

The Advisory Committee on Business Appointments' advice in relation to appointments it is aware have been taken up, or announced, in 2018-2019

Advice letters

The Committee’s advice given to former ministers in relation to new appointments or employment, including the conditions imposed.

This list relates to appointments it is aware of having been taken up, or announced, in 2018-2019. Information on appointments taken up before 2018-2019 can be found on the previous list (2014-15 to 2017-2018); or in the relevant Advisory Committee on Business Appointments’ annual report.

If an appointment is not listed here, it does not necessarily mean that advice has not been sought or provided. Until the point at which an appointment or employment is taken up, it remains in confidence. The Advisory Committee on Business Appointments publish advice only when it is informed that an appointment has been taken up or announced.

ACOBA advice - latest publications

This list includes the Committee’s advice on appointments published in January 2019

ACOBA advice - alphabetical

This list contains all advice published in 2018-2019

  1. Blackwood-Bate, Nicola - Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Public Health and Innovation at the Department of Health - ACOBA recommendation
  2. Boles, Nick - Minister of State for Skills, DfE/ BIS – ACOBA recommendation
  3. Brazier, Julian - Minister of State for Reserves at the Ministry of Defence - ACOBA recommendation
  4. Davis, David - Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union - ACOBA recommendation
  5. Fallon, Michael - Secretary of State for Defence, Ministry of Defence - ACOBA recommendation
  6. Green, Damian, First Secretary of State and Minister for the Cabinet Office - ACOBA recommendation
  7. Hands, Greg, Minister of State for Trade Policy, Department for International Trade – ACOBA recommendation
  8. Hayes, John, Minister of State for Transport, Department for Transport
  9. Johnson, Boris – Secretary of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office - ACOBA
  10. Nash, Lord - Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the School System at the Department for Education - ACOBA recommendation
  11. Neville-Rolfe, Lucy - Commercial Secretary to the Treasury, Her Majesty's Treasury - ACOBA recommendation
  12. Osborne, George, Chancellor of the Exchequer, HM Treasury - ACOBA recommendation
  13. Shields, Joanna, Minister for Internet Safety and Security, Home Office/ DCMS - ACOBA recommendation
  14. Wharton, James - Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for International Development - ACOBA recommendation
  15. Wilson, Rob - Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Civil Society, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport - ACOBA recommendation
Published 2 May 2018
Last updated 24 January 2019 + show all updates
  1. List updated

  2. List updated

  3. Appointments added.

  4. List updated.

  5. List updated

  6. New appointments added.

  7. List updated.

  8. List updated.

  9. List updated.

  10. First published.