Approved driving instructor (ADI) standards check

5. Old 'ADI check test' grades

The approved driving instructor (ADI) standards check replaced the ADI check test on 7 April 2014.

Old ADI check test grades will apply until you take your first standards check.

If you got a grade 2 or 3 in your last ADI check test, you’ll have 2 attempts to pass the new ADI standards check.

Old ‘ADI check test’ grades

Grade Overall performance
6 Very high
5 Good
4 Satisfactory
3 Inadequate
2 Poor
1 Extremely poor
E Educational check test

Educational check test grade

Educational (E) grades will not be given to newly qualified instructors in the new standard checks.