The Commonwealth of Nations is a voluntary association of 53 sovereign states, and home to 2.2 billion Commonwealth Citizens.

Almost all Commonwealth members were once part of Britain’s former Empire, and therefore share a rich cultural political and linguistic heritage. However the states that make up the Commonwealth are also very diverse. They include some of the world’s wealthiest states, and some of the world’s poorest. Some Commonwealth states span entire continents; others are small islands with some of the world’s smallest populations.

The UK government works with the Commonwealth Secretariat to ensure that the Commonwealth is able to promote democratic principles and Human Rights, support the economic development of poorer member states and help provide a voice to some of the world’s smallest and most remote sovereign states. The UK is officially represented on the governing Board of the Commonwealth Secretariat by the Commonwealth Envoy, who is supported by the Commonwealth Team based at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II is head of the Commonwealth, an important unifying role that personally reinforces the links by which the Commonwealth joins people together from around the world.

The Commonwealth Envoy is Philip Parham.

Contact us

UK Representation in the Commonwealth

FCO Commonwealth Team
Foreign and Commonwealth Office,
King Charles Street,


Corporate information