The UK Mission to ASEAN aims to deepen our engagement with ASEAN, building on existing collaboration and exploring new ways to collaborate with the organisation and its member states.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional organisation of 10 member states: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The UK Mission to ASEAN aims to deepen engagement between the UK and ASEAN. We will work with our embassies in each of the 10 ASEAN countries to build on existing collaboration with ASEAN and explore new political-security, economic and socio-cultural collaboration.

We work in close partnership with countries across Southeast Asia to boost prosperity, enhance knowledge-sharing and improve resilience. As a major development partner for Southeast Asia, the UK government provides over £300 million Official Development Assistance annually to support economic and social development, tackle climate change and provide humanitarian assistance following disasters, through a range of programmes. UK-ASEAN trade was at a 10-year high of £37.2 billion in 2018 (according to Office for National Statistics), with £16.7 billion of UK exports to ASEAN.

There are over 40,000 students from ASEAN at UK universities, and the British Council has trained over 36,000 English language teachers. The Newton and Fleming Funds support vital joint research work in areas such as climate-resistant crops and anti-microbial resistance respectively.

Find out more about the UK Mission´s work.

Read the UK-ASEAN factsheet

Our people

Jon Lambe

Ambassador, UK Mission to ASEAN

Contact us

UK Mission to ASEAN

Jalan Patra Kuningan Raya Blok L5-6
Jakarta - 12950


Enquiries (telephone)
+62 21 2356 5334

Corporate information