Office access and opening times

On this page you will find information about disabled access to the British High Commission and our public holidays for 2018 and 2019.

Disabled access

General physical access - Public Areas

Entrances All entrances are clear & unobstructed, guard is available if necessary to open doors etc.

Steps and staircases
There are stairs but their is access to the consular waiting area via and alternative route without stairs.

Ramps – are mobile ones accessible? No - none necessary.

Lifts
A lift to all floors is available

Toilets
Disabled toilet on the ground floor

Parking – are they designated disabled spaces? No reserved space but parking available with transfer space

Floor coverings All floor coverings are safe and even

Handrails No - handrails available

Lighting There is good lighting.

Signs Signs are clear.

Emergency/evacuation – arrangements for emergencies / evacuation for disabled visitors. There is a seperate procedure for this in the building evacuation plan

Telephones No phone in public areas

For visually impaired visitors

Braille There are no braille signs, but assistance can be given for the reading of material Guide dogs Guide dogs are welcome

For hearing impaired visitors

Hearing loop

Amplifier installed at visa / passport counterand main reception area

Minicom and textphones
There are no minicom or textphones

Sign language No staff are currently trained in BSL

Interpretation Is available by arrangement

Hearing dogs Hearing dogs are welcome

Public holidays

Public holidays for Wellington:

2018

  • Monday 27 August
  • Monday 22 October
  • Monday 24 December
  • Tuesday 25 December
  • Wednesday 26 December

2019

  • Tuesday 1 January
  • Wednesday 2 January
  • Monday 21 January
  • Monday 28 January
  • Wednesday 6 February
  • Friday 19 April
  • Monday 22 April
  • Thursday 25 April
  • Monday 27 May
  • Monday 3 June
  • Monday 26 August
  • Monday 28 October
  • Tuesday 24 December
  • Wednesday 25 December
  • Thursday 26 December

The Auckland Consulate is closed on the following dates:

2018

  • Monday 27 August
  • Monday 22 October
  • Monday 24 December
  • Tuesday 25 December
  • Wednesday 26 December

2019

  • Tuesday 1 January
  • Wednesday 2 January
  • Monday 21 January
  • Monday 28 January
  • Wednesday 6 February
  • Friday 19 April
  • Monday 22 April
  • Thursday 25 April
  • Monday 27 May
  • Monday 3 June
  • Monday 26 August
  • Monday 28 October
  • Tuesday 24 December
  • Wednesday 25 December
  • Thursday 26 December