1. Terrorism threat levels

The threat level indicates the likelihood of a terrorist attack in the UK.

There are 5 levels of threat:

  • low - an attack is unlikely
  • moderate - an attack is possible but not likely
  • substantial - an attack is a strong possibility
  • severe - an attack is highly likely
  • critical - an attack is expected imminently

The current threat level is set separately for Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

In mainland Britain, the threat level is substantial from international terrorism and moderate from Northern Ireland-related terrorism.

In Northern Ireland, the threat level is substantial from international terrorism and severe from Northern Ireland-related terrorism.

The level is set by the Joint Terrorism Analysis Centre and the Security Service (MI5).

Threat levels don’t have an expiry date. They can change at any time as different information becomes available to security agents.

More information about terrorist threat levels

Get more information about terrorism threat levels in the UK on the MI5 website.

You can also check the government’s travel advice for different countries.

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.