This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what beta means

HMRC internal manual

VAT Government and Public Bodies

Local authority education services: types of school

Under the School Standards and Framework Act 1998 schools in the state sector belong to one of the following categories:

  • community schools
  • foundation schools (formerly grant-maintained schools)
  • voluntary schools (voluntary aided, voluntary funded and voluntary controlled)
  • community special schools, and
  • foundation special schools.

The majority of schools fall into one of the first three categories.