Beta This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what this means

HMRC internal manual

PAYE Manual

From
HM Revenue & Customs
Updated
, see all updates

Work management: PAYE work management system: re-open a closed work item

You can re-open a specific work item within PAYE Work Management that has been previously closed. As an example, you may wish to re-open a work item if further information comes to light that means you can complete a work item that was previously closed.

To re-open a work item once it has been resolved the Search function must be used to obtain the work item that can be selected for review.

Before you can re-open a closed work item, the following conditions must be met

  • The work item must be appropriate to your role
  • You must be viewing the work item
  • The work item must already have the status closed

The [Re-open icon] is a button on the top right of the screen, you will re-open the work item by selecting the icon. The work item will display the status ‘open’ and be placed on your work list. The system prompts you to enter reasons as to why the work item is being re-opened before it is moved to your work list.

When the work item has been re-opened and assigned to you, you will need to refresh your work list for the work item to be displayed.

You can now work on the work item in the usual way (re-direct, BF, make notes or close).

A free format note must be made in the Action Text field explaining why the closed work item has been re-opened. (When re-opening a work item from a search list the work item moves directly to your work list, the ‘Action Text’ notes field is not presented at this point, the ‘notes’ field must be completed when the re-opened work item is subsequently being closed or put on BF).

Note: Closed work items will be deleted from the work basket 3 months after closure. If a work item has been re-opened and re-closed it will be 3 months after the date last closed.

Where a work item has been reopened the system will compute any ageing incremental factor from the work item’s original creation date, therefore a work item may have ‘aged’ from its original priority value.