Beta This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what this means

HMRC internal manual

PAYE Manual

HM Revenue & Customs
, see all updates

Work management: PAYE work management system: switch user roles

You can switch between roles if you have been assigned to more than one. Changing roles affects the work item types that can be assigned to you. You may be assigned several different roles in the PAYE Work Management system to enable you to deal with a variety of work items.

Each role allocated to you is displayed as an icon in my workplace / corporate services / individuals. Initially you must select the appropriate role through the icon but once you are logged in to the Work Management system you can switch roles using the drop down menu in the Navigation Menu (this list will display only those roles that the user is authorised to access). For example, if working in an Employment Maintenance role you can switch to a Coding role to work on a different group of work items.

You retain ownership of any work item in your personal work list when switching roles, so the work item appears on your work list in the new role.

If you switch roles before closing a current work item any unsaved work in that work item will be lost, for example, text entered into the notes field, or selections made from the system administration functions that have not been submitted, will be lost.

If you need to switch roles whilst working on a work item, you should first close any work item that you are currently working on, recording any actions taken.