Beta This part of GOV.UK is being rebuilt – find out what this means

HMRC internal manual

PAYE Manual

From
HM Revenue & Customs
Updated
, see all updates

Work management: PAYE work management system: work item ownership

The PAYE Work Management system holds one national ‘basket’ in which all work items (not currently assigned to an operator) reside.

You obtain a work item from the basket by selecting the [Get Next] button within the PAYE Work Management system. Alternatively you are able to search for and select a work item for a specified individual, for example, to deal with a telephone call.

The PAYE Work Management system will identify the highest priority item and look to deliver it but first checks that you are

  • Authorised to receive a work item for this customer
  • In a role which allows you to receive a work item of this type

If ‘yes’ is the answer to both questions the PAYE Work Management system will present the work item to you.

If the answer is ‘no’ to either question the PAYE Work Management system will move to the next highest priority item and repeat the process.

If there are no suitable work items in the basket the following advisory message is displayed

  • ‘There are currently no work items available to this role, please contact your manager’

If you do not complete a work item in full before you log off the PAYE Work Management system, you retain ownership for a set period of time. At the end of the set period, the work item is returned to the basket for re-distribution. This allows you time to complete a work item, but prevents it being left stranded if you do not return to it for any reason.

You must record all actions on a work item as they are taken. This acts as a prompt for the next operator if the work item is returned to the basket before the work is completed. If you need to log off the PAYE Work Management system before completing a work item then automatic entries of actions taken to date are made (this may be an entry stating that no actions have yet been taken).

The work item will then be locked and you must select the [Release Lock] button and then the Refresh icon to enable you to select and work that work item on your work list.

If you place a work item on BF by setting the BF date, you do not own it. The work item returns to the basket for distribution at the BF date.

Normally you only have one work item open at any one time. However, to enable you to deal with a telephone call whilst working on a work item, it is possible to open a second work item using the Search facility. You can select up to 10 work items using Search and the [Get Next] button.